This and That

Watching:The Crow
To Do:Sleep
Recent Purchases:Nada

Me in a Nutshell
Current
Archives
Rings
Notes

Get Notified of Entries:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Good Reads

I Can Fly
Groovy Mom
And Another Thing
BitchyPoo
Unconcious Mutterings
Friday Five
The View From Here
Fred

Interesting
Pine Tree Designs
Say Say's Soap and Candle Stand
Groovy Mom
Greetings Galore
CyberTown
Fark
HomeStar
D-Land

Where Were You When


Tuesday, Mar. 30, 2004 @ 10:16 p.m.

I really don't have much to write about today and wasn't planning on making an entry, that is until I spyed something neat on Trinity's journal that I had to steal. It's called:

Where Were You When

When Mt. St. Helens blew (05/18/1980 I can't say that I remember that much as I was in Kindergarten. I do remember a 7th grade science teacher talking about it and me thinking that it was eon's ago in a time I wasn't alive *giggles* But, as I also recall I hated that class and payed very little attention.

the space shuttle Challenger exploded (01/28/1986) I can remeber this, I believe I was in the 4th grade and me and my mom were staying at her cousin Karen's house babysitting my cousins Shannon and Scott while Karen and Terry were on a cruise or something. I had come home for lunch (we didn't have school lunch program until I was in 8th grade..small town ya know)and it came on the TV. We went back to school that afternoon and it was a big discussion on it the entire afternoon. Very sad.

the 7.1 earthquake hit San Francisco (10/07/1989) I don't remember much on this one either. I know I was in middle school and I can recall seeing the footage of it on TV with the collasped bridges and things.

When the Berlin Wall fell (11/07/1989) I didnt' realize that had occured until I started seeing supposed pieces of the Berlin Wall packaged in this nice little box that looked like a brick, for sale in our local Ames Department Store. I didn't buy into that scam *giggles*

When the Gulf War began (01/16/1991) I can remember this very well. I was a freshman in highschool and it was the talk of the day. I watched CNN constantly to keep up to date on what was happening in the war. Me and Diana (my friend I have wrote about recently who I have just got in contact with) oogled over different reporters covering the war in Iraq. All I can say is.. Whoa.. Wolf Blitzer, he was good.

When OJ Simpson was chased in his White Bronco (06/17/1994) I just asked the hubby on this one as I was reading him the list. He doesn't remember the fact that that was the week I moved in with him. I had just graduated on the 12th I think it was. We were sitting in Wally's and Scott's apartment (mine too at that time I guess) and it came on. We watched all the footage that night until it was time for him to work the nightshift. Very compelling to watch a bronco travel up the highway under hot pursuit. Right.

When the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma City was bombed (04/19/1995) I can only remember where I was with this one because the radio was on at work and some of the Dj's for that station came into get lunch everyday. Me and Diane sat in the backroom at Subway and listened the better part of the afternoon for updates.

When Princess Di was killed (08/31/1997)Once again at work at Subway. I think it wasn't until I got home that night that I realized it had happened. We were actually living with Scott's mom at that point. Sleeping on the living room floor and on the couch. I remember the hubby bitchin that there was so much news about it interupting his programs, and if it had been anyone else there wouldn't be this much drama involed.

When the shooting at Columbine occurred (04/20/1999) Gonna surprise you on this one. I was at work at Subway. That one was very shocking and horrific to me as I was pregnant for Sammie Jo at the time. I remember thinking, what the hell and I bringing a child into this world to look forward to?

When Bush was first announced President (11/07/2000) I was at home. The house we are in now. I was glad it was Bush and not the internet inventing Gore. Allthough I didn't vote so really I would have nothing to complain about had it been Gore.

When terrorists destroyed the World Trade Center (09/11/2001) That I can remember like it was yesterday. I had gotten up with the kids and was sitting down to yak at Dani on the computer. The kids were watching cartoons and I was opening my IM. Dani and I talked for a spell and she "OMG"ed me and told me to turn it on the news. The minute I did I saw the replay of the first plane hitting the Tower. I had by that time picked up the phone and called Dani. I was like.. what the fuck was that? I wasn't quite sure if what I was seeing was real. I am glad Sammie was young and playing peacefully while I freaked out. Then.. the live footage continued and I saw the second plane hit. How horrific. I will never in my life forget that morning. I woke up Scott and we watched the coverage constantly for the next week. I remember having to drive by the airport later that day and being nervous. Watching planes became a nervous tick almost to make sure they weren't going to fall out of the sky. My heart goes out to everyone affected by the attack.

When Columbia disintegrated during re-entry over Texas. (02/01/2003) I think me and Scott were just sitting around watching TV when that came on and I remember thinking of terrorism and attacks. My brain was in "what next?" mode. Then I was somewhat relieved it wasn't, but saddened for those affected.

Where were you when the 'Shock and awe' campaign got underway in Iraq ( March 22, 2003 ) Knowing that the war was going to start soon, I was keeping a constant eye on CNN and MSNBC to watch. That is kind of morbid isn't it? Wanting to watch and actual war take place? I was at home though. Watching the coverage once again. We are big TV watcher. The TV is never not on. So, we generally catch all the "late breaking news" and tune in.Wow, that was interesting to think back on those events. Interesting and sad. There was one I didn't see there though. The bombing at the Olympics in Georgia I think it was. Hmm.. I remember da hubby waking me up to tell me about it early morn, early early morn. When I woke up for the day I thought it had been a mere dream. Alas I was wrong sadly enough.

Well, that is it for the night. I must go nighty night now. Talk at ya'll another night.

Comments

<< Rewind || Fast Foward >>

Lately
About a dear friend - Monday, Aug. 02, 2004
My Last Nerve - Monday, Jul. 19, 2004
I am Back - Monday, May. 17, 2004
What the hell was I thinking?!?!?! - Friday, Apr. 02, 2004
Where Were You When - Tuesday, Mar. 30, 2004

Copyright � Babbles of a Rubber Luver 2004 & all content is of my own works unless otherwise noted